Swap ’til you drop

I’m a few days late on this, but Thursday night I went to my second Swap meet and wanted to update you all on it! I wrote this story for Her Campus last semester about the Swap concept, which I am now totally obsessed with. Basically these two girls, who call themselves the Swapaholics, got together and decided to create clothing swap meets, where you show up, donate any old clothing you arent using or wearing anymore, and then get to shop around a huge room full of others donated items. For just the ticket price (somewhere between $10 and $15) and the clothes you donate, you simply walk out of the room with a bag full of new items for your closet!

As a total shopaholic who is also on a very tight college budget, this concept is perfect for me. I’ve got tons of stuff laying around that I never wear, and it was a perfect excuse to purge my wardrobe and acquire some new items without emptying my wallet.

A view of the swap room after the event

This swap was much much bigger than the Swap I attended last time. It was held at the Armory for the Arts out in Somerville, and was a 15 minute walk from the Davis T stop on the redline.

 

All my bags piled into the back of my zipcar!

I had 12 bags (yes 12, you read that right!) of clothing to donate, (but in all fairness most of it was my roommates that she was purging before she moved back home to California after graduating in December) so I rented a zipcar for a few hours and drove me and my friend Kate out to the ‘burbs.

We dropped off the bags, parked the car and then got inside and waited in line. As soon as the doors opened at 8, women of all body types, ages and races rushed into a massive room, set up with dozens of wardrobers and tables covered with everything from designer jeans to dresses to shoes & jewelry. This swap was much larger, so there were even tables with books, childrens clothing, DVDs and games.

Kate and I scoured the room and settled into a corner to collect ourselves and try on the items we’d snagged. After a few rounds of rejects and some more try-ons, I scored the following:

A violet Express button down, a red cashmere sweater, a black dress, purple Soffe shorts, a striped dress (this item I’m unsure about & may re-swap next month, but we’ll see), a black Rugby cardigan, a sparkle dress from Forever 21 & a Jane Green novel. Score!

And just because I’m feeling cheesy…

I ❤ to Swap!

January 24, 2011. Uncategorized.

3 Comments

  1. Melissa @TheSwapaholics replied:

    How cute are you, Rachel! We love that you love to swap, too. Sorry we didn’t get to hang at the swap, but thanks again for coming — and the purple Soffe shorts were mine! Only worn once for this photo shoot at the Armory a few years ago for Shoestring Magazine. Enjoy! xo Meliss

  2. 1st Annual SwapDay USA | The Swapaholics replied:

    […] Passion for Fashion Rachel from HerCampus wrote about us last year, and finally got to swap with us on swapday! Check out her bounty — including a few items from a photo shoot me & Amy did at the Armory in 2008 for Shoestring. Love how everything comes full circle! […]

  3. SG replied:

    I love your blog so much…
    after a long time of reading it, i decided to open my own blog..
    i’ll be happy if you could give me your opinion 🙂

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

