J Crew interview update!

I posted last week about my job search with J Crew, and I realize now that I never updated about the interview! Since I’m supposed to hear back from them some time this week, I figured I’d let you in on the experience thus far.

I headed over to Copley in the pouring rain last Monday afternoon and managed to make it there only slightly soggy. I was wearing my grey leggings, a long, navy blue J Crew argyle cardigan & my newly found pearls (I raided my old jewelry when I was home over spring break & found three strands of pearls I’d gotten as a teen and totally forgot about – score!).  I was also rocking my bright yellow target rainboots. I was there incredibly early, so I spent some time checking out their spring collection and wandering the store. I immediately noticed how many sales associates they had working at one time – I counted at least seven or eight just in the front of the store, and it was a Monday!

I met with Erica, the hiring manager, who gave me lots of great information about the store, dress code, what it’s like to work for J Crew and we talked about me, my fashion sense, my availability and my past retail experience. I think the conversation went well, and she informed me that she’d be calling me in a week to ten days to let me know if I had been picked for a second interview. I’ve never interviewed for a retail job that did second interviews, and to be honest I was pretty shocked – I didn’t know the process was so selective! She said they had a lot of applications, which I definitely do not doubt, and that she’d be in touch.

I’m hoping I hear back soon – although I’d be pretty surprised if I didn’t get a second interview, I guess with that many applicants you really never know. If it doesn’t work out I won’t be heartbroken, although I think working there would be great experienced and I know I’d have tons of fun helping and dressing customers at the store.

Anyways, I’ll be sure to keep you guys posted when I do hear back!

March 23, 2010. Tags: , , . Fashion.

Leave a Comment

Be the first to comment!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

