Fashion in the twit-o-sphere

For class this week, we’re doing a unit on Twitter, and have been assigned to find and follow 10 twitter users related to our blog beat. Although I’ve been on twitter for quite some time, I realized in beginning this assignment that I don’t follow very many people or organizations that are fashion related.

In searching Listorious for “fashion” and “boston fashion” I stumbled across a list of Boston Fashion Bloggers put together by twitter user DameVintage. Lists on twitter are simple – they allow users to organize the people they follow into categories. For example, I have a “news” list, a “northeastern” list and now, a newly created “fashion” list.

I’ve chosen to follow a variety of fashion-related twitters.

I found Sarah McManus, aka BostonStylista, who was once assistant fashion editor for Boston Magazine and has since opened her own style consultation business. McManus tweets about a variety of things – she promotes her anyweargirl.com blog posts, tweets with other stylistas, including RobertVerdi, about their favorite spring trends, and retweets other interesting blog posts she comes across.

I discovered Kara thebostonista, who writes the fashion blog thebostonista.com. Kara is great to follow – her twitter is much more personal, and she makes comments and asks questions in addition to plugging her blog posts.

I’ve also chosen to follow cutblog, the fashion blog for New York Magazine. While cutblog mostly tweets about blog posts on their own site, they also engage in some conversation and will occasionally retweet. My favorite is the retweet of this great twitpic, posted originally twitter user fashionrat, of gingerbread men wearing outfits from Lady Gaga’s Telephone music video. The image later made it into a Huffington Post update!

I also found Forever21, fashionboston, shopsecret, and nytimesstyle.

After writing my post about oohilove, I’ve been following them on twitter. I had also been following GlobeFashion and nytimesfashion, but both simply post links to articles on their sites instead of engaging in any conversation, which isn’t very exciting.

March 16, 2010. Tags: , , . Class Posts, Fashion News.

Leave a Comment

Be the first to comment!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

