Revisiting the flannel trend

Recently, I was reading through some of my older blog entries when I stumbled upon a post I wrote in March of last year about the up and coming flannel trend. A year later, I have grown much more accustomed to the look, and figured I’d share my thoughts.

Me, wearing one of the "flannel" shirts that I own before heading out to the bars with friends.

I can now say that I own three “flannel” style tops, although I don’t exactly picture myself wearing them with cowboy boots out on the farm. While I am a huge fan of over-sized shirts and leggings, I’ve decided to keep my checkered shirt collection shorter to wear with jeans.

The shirt pictured to the right I bought at New York & Co on Black Friday last year. You can’t really tell in the picture, but it has a few frills near the top buttons and thin silver stripes. Not only was it incredibly on sale, but I decided I liked the fit and would be able to wear it both to class and out with friends.

When I was home in LA over winter break, I got a multicolored checkered shirt from Target that I absolutely love. It was $15 and the bright, fun colors are right up my alley.

Yesterday, Erin and I did some retail therapy damage at Forever 21, American Eagle and H&M. We found these great checkered tops at American Eagle. They were marked down in the store to $19.95, and we had an additional 40% off coupon which meant we got them for $12 each. Erin got the blue one, and I decided to go for the green. The colors are more Spring like, but the material is soft and comfy, and will be a nice bright top to pair with dark jeans.

I think the trick is finding a pattern that isn’t too traditional (I’d suggest avoidng red and black checkers) and can be worn with a solid tank top underneath. Finding the right size is also key: make sure that it fits well but isn’t too tight or too loose. Adding a girly touch, like the silver stripe or the frills near the buttons, can also benefit the look.

So there you have it – I’ve officially been converted. Of course now that I’ve warmed up to the trend, I’m sure it will be on the “that is so last year” list.

February 14, 2010. Fashion.

Leave a Comment

Be the first to comment!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

