final thoughts…

As our last class assignment, we were asked to reflect on our overall blogging experience. I’ll just share a few of my thoughts over the last few months.

I’m not going to lie – I was thrilled that I was being forced by a class to create a blog. I’ve always tried to start blogging but never had the self motivation, so the fact that class made me do it was excellent on both ends. I’ve really enjoyed writing about fashion on here – sometimes I feel like a lot of the crazy over the top runway fashion is just ridiculous and too much, so getting down to the local angle of fashion and my thoughts on dressing myself [and often other people] has been a lot of fun. 

I really loved writing in here – expressing myself and my opinions has never been something I’ve shied away from, but this was a different sort of expression. I wasnt just sitting here ranting about my day – I had a specific purpose and message. 

I really loved seeing the traffic to my blog increase as time went on – obviously on the days when I posted the link everywhere more people clicked on it – but seeing the increase in comments was great, and especially from people who aren’t in the class but just enjoy reading this thing anyways. I loved sharing the blog with my friends and family, forcing them to add it to the RSS feed was great. I loved writing about stuff and having people say something to me later in the day or week – its always rewarding when people read what youre writing, no matter what the outlet.

I think if I could do anything differently, it would just be to force myself to post more often. I had all sorts of great ideas that I’d either never write down or think about in the middle of the day and then totally forget about, which was often frustrating. 

There was definitely a surprise when I got a nasty comment from “John Smith” telling me to get off my high horse, that I was just some ugly pathetic nobody [of course he used words that were a lot less tasteful] but I guess thats just the reality of the internet and the online world – people will always have their opinions and the right to share them, no matter how nasty they are.

I really do love the idea of blogs, and I’m hoping to continue blogging. Maybe not necessarily a fashion blog, but I will be working for 6 months, so I’m sure I’ll have plenty of stuff to blog about there.

April 9, 2009. Uncategorized.

Leave a Comment

Be the first to comment!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

