rain rain go away

Today’s weather gave me the perfect excuse to rant about how over the rain I am.

Ideally, I love the rain. I love the way it feels on your bare skin, the romantic notion of kissing in the rain, running and splashing in the rain. And then you get outside and its actually freezing out. Not only is it cold, but its windy, so the rain is pelting your face and soaking your purse and its burning your hand thats holding the umbrella and by the time you get to class or your meeting youre soaking wet anyways. And youre wearing rainboots, so your feet are cold and uncomfortable because rainboots are hypothetically great and practical but in reality they are not warm and they hurt your feet when you wear them for long periods of time and theyre bulky and clunky and awkward. And of course your jeans tucked into them end up hurting your ankles, and your thighs get soaking wet from the rain pelting you and remain soggy for the rest of the day. Not to mention the frizzy hair, destroyed makeup and soggy look you’ve got going on afterwards. And thats when you realize that you hate the rain, and you just miss the sunshine. Or is that just me?  

Anyways, I’ve come to realize that in my plethora of jackets I do not have a practical rain coat. I have my puffy cropped  jacket with a hood, and I have my ski jacket, but neither are very practical for real rain. And even though I always use an umbrella, with the wind of Boston I always get soaking wet anyways.

I’ll stop the negativity, but really. I’m ready for some serious sunshine.

April 6, 2009. Uncategorized.

Leave a Comment

Be the first to comment!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

