Rant of the Day

I mentioned in my last post my frustration with bra shopping, and I figured why not share my rant with the world here.

When I went to summer camp as a 13 and 14 year old, I had absolutely no need to wear a bra. They used to sing the “Flat as a Mat” song to me and my friend Shayna because we just were completely MIA in that area. I was that girl that prayed and wished and hoped that one day she would get boobs and be able to fill out a bra. Little did I know, that wish would one day come back to bite me in the butt.

Now, I have to wear a D cup. I have such ridiculous trouble finding bras because my rib cage is so tiny and yet my boobs are so big. Victoria Secret doesn’t make my size, nor does Aerie. The most expensive brand name bras from all the department stores of course make 32 Ds that cost anywhere from $60 to $80, and even when I do manage to find them on sale at Nordstroms, they still cost me an arm and a leg.

This is what I dont understand. America pressures girls to be skinny. America pressures girls to have big boobs. America pressures girls to be skinny with big boobs, exactly the way Barbie is made. I’m not going to lie – I know I have the body that thousands of girls kill themselves over. I know that I am blessed in my metabolism and my wonderful chest [but dont worry, I am constantly telling all of my flat chested friends that they can gladly have my boobs, they are too big for me.]. So yes, I am blessed. Then why is shopping for bras, bathing suits & tops often such a pain in the ass for me?!

Please tell me, why doesnt one of the biggest lingerie stores in the country carry my size? Erin has the same problem, and she wears 34 D’s instead because they fit her basically the same. I cant wear 34 D most of the time because my back ends up hurting, because the band slips up my back and makes it incredibly uncomfortable.

Its the same for clothes – tops that have triangle shapes, especially the ones with lines underneath the chest – they just dont do it for me. If I want something to fit me up top, I end up having to get it in Medium. Then the medium looks baggy in the rest of my body and I look ridiculous. If I try the small, my boobs are popping out or making it too tight up top.

And oh, the joys of bathing suit shopping. You’d think it’d be easy, but no. Forget string bikinis, no way will my boobs stay in those. So I have to find the bikinis with the thicker straps, which normally have clips. But in order for the cups to fit my boobs, I have to buy them in medium or large, which means the band is too big for my ribs. So then I have to literally go to the tailor and get my bathing suits hemmed to fit me. It’s ridiculous.

So this is my Dear America – Please, if youre going to pressure girls to be skinny and big breasted – at least make clothes for us!

March 22, 2009. Tags: , . Uncategorized.

One Comment

  1. Royal replied:

    I did not just like the shops opening at 10pm, 12am, 2am and
    so forth. generally we obtain a small sleep Thanksgiving night.
    Last 12 months, we would rush in a retail outlet get what we desired then really need to wait for that next one particular to open.
    There were a lot of teenagers out because of it getting at evening
    instead of 6am once they are sleeping (lol). Also due to the fact a lot of opened hrs apart every person had time to go retailer to retail outlet so
    they were even a lot more crowded.

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

