fashion faux pas

In suggesting topics for me to write about, my professor had the idea that I talk about the biggest fashion mistake of my past. Now that I am a fashion expert and I have this blog, it’s obvious that I make no mistakes what so ever, I will clearly have to pull from way back in the past [ha ha, juuuust kidding]. 

The first thing that comes to mind when I think of the embarassing things I wore in middle school and high school is all short short shirts that I owned and wore, showing half of my stomach to the entire reason for no good reason. I am thin, I have always been thin, blessed with my father’s god-like metabolism, so it’s not like I walked around with rolls sticking out of my shirt. But even still, I cringe thinking about all those shirts with the labels “princess” or the “perfect” on them, all shrunken way up. Of course that was the trend of the time, if only I had been able to figure out how horrible I looked.

Now, I avoid showing my stomach at all costs. In fact, almost all of the tops that I own are ridiculously long, probably covering more than necessary. Funny how trends change. In making that joke above, it made me think – in 5 years from now, will I look back at pictures and be embarrassed by what I wore based on the trends of the next few years? Its so funny how fashion ideas change yet remain cyclical – my mom always laughs about how she would wear the same thing back in “her day”. Just take the example of flannel – huge back in the 80’s and 90’s and now it’s reappearing all over the place. Same with spandex and leggings. 

I guess all I can hope is that I dont make the same mistake I did in middle school with all those embarrassing graphic t’s that showed the whole world my belly button. I guess we all have that fashion faux pas in our closet – and there’s mine.

March 18, 2009. Uncategorized.

2 Comments

  1. wonker replied:

    Interesting blog, I’ll try and spread the word.

  2. Ashley replied:

    Where are the pictures? I want proof of these awful attire choices

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

