the flannel trend

I’m not quite sure how I feel about it. Sometimes, I see a pic of a celeb and think “wow, she looks so great” and other days, I see a girl on campus wearing an oversize shirt and think “did she sleep at some guys and wear his shirt out because she puked all over his?”

I did some googling, and discovered this great post on sparkleshelf about how to rock the plaid based on things celebs have done well and not so well. I also discovered the wordpress lovlierfashion blog and skipped to the flannel tag page, which shows some interesting outfit collages that include plaid.

I think I probably missed the boat on this one, as the only flannel I own is a size 14 shirt from the target boys section that I wore the halloween of my freshman year, but the trend still confuses me. The idea of an oversize tshirt or vneck with leggings or tight skinny jeans and a waist belt is definitely a cute one, but flannel? Im just not so sure about it.

March 14, 2009. Uncategorized.

2 Comments

  1. kristied replied:

    I’m in the same boat. I usually HATE the way flannel shirts look, although lately I’ve been finding certain occasions where they look great. I definitely think you need some kind of tan with them (pastey white skin just gives that whole farmer look) and I definitely think the flannel has to have the right colors in it for it to work. I personally like the navy and red, but its not just any red. It has to be a darker red that’s kind of bright at the same time if that makes any sense. Maybe they’ll keep growing on me, who knows?

  2. Revisiting the flannel trend « passion for fashion replied:

    […] some of my older blog entries when I stumbled upon a post I wrote in March of last year about the up and coming flannel trend. A year later, I have grown much more accustomed to the look, and figured I’d share my […]

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

