los angeles fashion observations

While in LA, I noticed some key differences in the way people dress themselves, which I wanted to talk about quickly. I wish I had thought to be slick and get some good pictures of some gross (and great) fashion I saw while home, but I didnt have the guts to go around photographing random strangers, so I figured I’d just describe basic trends instead.

The number one thing I noticed in LA was people’s denial of how warm it really was outside. There were people in Uggs and boots everywhere, wearing jackets and vests and long sleeves in the sixty five degree weather. It was as if they wanted so desperately to adopt the chic fashion of the east coast. Yes, I have grown to love my boots and learned to rock them with my favorite jackets and scarves, but seriously people, when I lived in LA I wore cute flats & flip flops every single day that it wasnt raining out (and even then I left the house in flip flops, despite my mother’s yelling). I guess it’s all relative – I can remember thinking that 45 felt like hell every morning when I got into my car to go to school, and now it’s 45 and I want to wear mini shorts and a tank top. In comparison to the “feels like” 8 degrees that Boston’s wind tunnels create, 45 really is beautiful. But compared to the 85 degrees that LA experiences 7 of the 12 months a year, 60 really is an excuse to wear boots and fur.

A huge thing that I’ve noticed both in LA & in Boston is the shoe trend, especially in guys. I’ve noticed guys wearing much more fashionable sneakers, or having more than one pair to match different outfits. Brightly colored Nike’s, Vans and Pumas are everywhere, and I have to admit – I love it.

I also noticed that people wear those word graphic tees everywhere in Los Angeles – the “I’m hotter than your girlfriend” or “100% princess”. I am ashamed to admit that I totally owned a few of those in middle school, but have since grown out of that trend. I think that part of it is the demographic in Los Angeles.  The reality is, LA is filled with a much lower socio-economic class, especially the immigrant population. In Boston, I’m constantly surrounded by students, students who can clearly afford to pay the exorbitant tuition that Northeastern charges us for a private education. I definitely noticed that in LA people sort of slap together a t shirt and jeans with their flip flops, where as the look of the north east feels more put together and thought out. It’s definitely a different style attitude, though you can tell that those in New England are desperate for the warm weather of LA (I couldn’t count the number of times I’ve seen both girls and guys wearing Los Angeles or Malibu graphic tees from Hollister or Abercrombie) yet at the same time, Californians want that cooler weather so they can done the boots and cute peacoats those on the east coast are forced to wear out in the freezing weather.

I’m not sure why I’m so fascinated by it all, but there you have it.

March 10, 2009. Uncategorized.

One Comment

  1. Your blogs « Online Journalism replied:

    […] Rachel went home to L.A. and wrote about the unique L.A. fashion sense […]

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

